Hunter Legend - New owner saying hi

Oct 10, 2020
Hunter Legend 290 Brightlingsea
Hello Everyone,

I joined the forum yesterday as I have just got a 2001 Hunter Legend 290. I hope this is the right group for me. I am in the UK and originally tried joining the Hunter Association, but they said thats only for the original UK designed Hunter boats.
I am not very experienced, other than I have been learning to sail in a Mirror Dinghy over the last couple of years. I have had power boats before, but I really like the idea of being able to get somewhere without burning fuel.

I just got back to my home marina, from the marina I got the boat from. We did the journey over 2 days as the weather wasn't great yesterday.
Depsite spending 2 days with the boat, I had so much on my mind I forgot to take any good pictures, so I have attached the only one I took.
On the journey back, we mostly used the motor and / or Genoa. I haven't been brave enough yet to put the main up. I am hoping to get a day with very little wind to be able to practice putting up and down both sails.

I hope to be able to learn more and get advice from like minded people with similar boats to myself. So hopefully this is the right place for me?

So a couple of questions, to get me started, if you dont mind?

The windows of the spray hood / dodger are really hard to see through. I find myself constantly looking over it on tip toes. Can they be cleaned? What product is best to do this with?

Reverse!
My boat is hard work in reverse. Is this normal?
I am aware of prop kick / walk from power boats I have owned previously. But the Hunter doesn't seem to want to turn much in reverse in either direction. Do they have left handed props on?

Well thats all from me, I am worn out from two days on the water and I have the motion feeling like I am still on the boat :)

Many thanks
Andy

Attachments

Nov 8, 2007
Hunter 27_75-84 Sandusky Harbor Marina, Ohio
Welcome, Andy!