Yanmar 3YM30 Help

Sep 24, 2020
Marlow Hunter 31 Redondo Beach
Just had my yanmar serviced (oil, filters, impeller, etc.). 300 hours and running well. After first trip out since service, I decided to recheck oil (cold and warm) and just make sure everything was in order. All is good.

Except, I noticed a black zip tie that snapped...looked like it was retained near/around the exhaust elbow and the coolant reservoir. Mechanic said he didn’t notice it, but doesn’t think it’s needed.
My only thought is that - as my floating dock condo (it’s a 2015 Hunter) - it’s a cramped engine bay and perhaps one of the exhaust hoses was getting too close to the elbow and the zip tie was there to keep it off?

Any ideas?

bonus question - what’s this clear pvc tube for that you see just below the elbow? It appears dry but seems to lead/drain to the sail drive/bilge.

I’m new to diesels - my prior sailboat had a kicker outboard and that was it. Trying to learn as much as I can so I can enjoy the boat but also be safe and keep her in great condition. Thanks in advance for listening and for any ideas.

jeff

Attachments

NYSail

Jan 6, 2006
Beneteau 423 Mt. Sinai, NY
That zip tie holds the engine to the boat!! Ha just pay attention to your engine and you will see. Sail relax and be observant. Before I leave I always look at my engine. After about 15 minutes I look at my engine. If I’m still motoring after 30 minutes I look but am not happy. And if I have to power all day I check every now and then. Point being is just keep an eye on things and you will see what needs to be done.

Good luck!

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
Uuhhhh, wouldn’t both ends of the strap be retained if it had been set/tightened? One end is attached, the other end would have been in the “jamb cleat”

Jan 4, 2006
Hunter 310 West Vancouver, B.C.
Photo is a little hard to see but from what I can see, the clear vinyl tubing is the sea water supply to the mixing elbow.

Mixing Elbow.jpeg