Looking at buying a boat, concerned about deck moisture levels

Apr 12, 2021
Hunter 34 n/a
Hey guys,

I'm looking at buying a Hunter 34 which is in good condition aside from a small crack in the keel, however seems to have quite a bit of moisture in the deck.
According to the survey (which was done in 2016, mind you) everything is solid, but moisture readings are showing at least 40% on the majority of the deck, which is leaving me uneasy. That being said I have limited experience with this so am not entirely sure what would fall within the realm of normal.

Any advice?

1 Moisture Map Martin 501002 001.jpg

Feb 21, 2013
Hunter 46 Point Richmond, CA
Last edited:

JRT

Feb 14, 2017
Catalina 310 211 Lake Guntersville, AL
If you already feel uneasy then move on, plus this is 2016, is there any proof they addressed it or just said hey it is fine haven't had an issue....

Apr 12, 2021
Hunter 34 n/a
Thanks for the input guys! I've kind of been thinking along the same lines as Don, where I'm not sure how accurate those readings are, particularly because the survey rated the deck condition as "fair", and indicated "Deck is in reasonable condition with higher moisture elevations near deck mounted hdwe. Resealing deck penetrations will help to reduce moisture content." But yeah if the core is soaked I'm really not interested in redoing the whole deck lol

They indicated other things had been replaced, but didn't mention anything about the deck, which doesn't bode particularly well. I think I'll take a look at it this week, (I'm assuming I'd be looking for any 'soft'ness or give in the deck), and if I do decide to go any further I'll definitely be getting a survey done.

higgs

Aug 24, 2005
Nassau 34 Olcott, NY
Unless you are getting this boat real cheap, and DYI projects are your forte, I would walk. There are plenty of boats out there.

Ted

Jan 26, 2005
C&C 110 Bay Shore, Long Island, NY