First time sailboat owner

Oct 26, 2022
Hunter Passage 42 Cape Marina
Hello, all. My wife and I just purchased a 1996 Passage 42. We had it surveyed and sea trialed and found that the anemometer and tachometer does not work. The previous owner replaced the factory alternator with a Delco 100 amp. The tach worked for a short while during the sea trial. Also, I am going to have to replace the packing gland; does anyone have a link to a how-to video for that? I have been an automotive technician for 40+ years so I do have experience working with my hands. Thanks in advance.

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
Welcome to boating and to SBO!

Some tachometers are driven by the alternator in a way that they only register when the battery is charging. If yours worked only for a brief time the cause could be something like that.

Do you mean you need to replace the packing in the gland or the whole gland itself?

• Helpful
Jan 1, 2006
Slickcraft 26 Sailfish
There used to be a very good video about replacing the packing gland on the Compass Marine Website. It is a good website to get to know especially for batteries, installations, charging modalities etc. The principal of the website posts on this forum as Mainesail. You can search the archives for some of his work.
Owner upgrades of alternators is pretty common as everyone wants more toys that use electrons on board.
We wonder how the PO (Previous Owner-or the devil incarnate) gets those instrument to work just for the sea trial.

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
Welcome to the forum!
Your tachometer may be driven from a sensor in the bellhousing that counts flywheel teeth, depending on which engine you have. Those have several connections between the tach and the engine and are notorious for bad connections, which makes the tach intermittent. As Davidsailor says, some are alternator pulse driven and won't drive the tach when the voltage regulator senses a full charge .

Oct 26, 2022