Lazy Jacks ?

May 7, 2023
catalina 27 lake st clair
I sail alone and I’m fairly new at this. I have a Catalina 27 with a roller furler. I don’t use my main much because I’m not very comfortable getting it down in wind. I’ve never had a problem I just worry about having one of the wind really picks up. However my comfort is growing. Now I’m thinking I should get lazy jacks not because of convenience but it allows me to drop the main quickly and safely. I saw a guy with 2 leg lazy jacks and I like the simplicity. I also saw 3 and 4 leg lazy jacks and they clearly collect the sail better. Not sure which to get ? Thoughts?

May 1, 2011
Pearson 37 Lusby MD
Recommend you talk to your local sail loft and see what they say for your boat.

JRacer

Aug 9, 2011
Beneteau 310 Cheney KS (Wichita)
I have two on my 31. Cable comes down from the upper part of the mast to a small block. Jack line runs up from the forward end of the boom through the block and back down to the boom just behind the aft turning block for the mid mounted mainsheet. See the pics. Works sufficiently. You do have to gather the tail end of the sail when it's dropped but that does not seem to be a problem.

Quantum Jib 13 Apparrent IMG_20171025_185009196.jpgQuantum Main 13 Apparent IMG_20171025_184955618.jpg

Jan 7, 2011
Oday 322 East Chicago, IN
I have 3 on my O’Day 322 and in conjunction with my Mack Pack, it works well for dropping the main sail.

IMG_3199.jpeg

image000000.jpeg

Not great photos, but you get the idea. On the bottom photo, I was coming in from a sail, dropped the main into the Mack Pack and had it pretty much all put to bed before I got back to the marina.

If anything, adding a 4th leg (or spacing my 3 legs out a bit more) would help keep the tail end of the sail on the boom. Everything else pretty much falls in place.

Greg

jssailem

SBO Weather and Forecasting Forum Jim & John
Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA