Stop Centerboard from 'Bouncing' in Waves on Hunter 216

Feb 26, 2016
Hunter 216 Oxford, MD
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to sailing, and have inherited a 216 from about 2008. I've noticed that when I lower the centerboard, there is no way to 'secure' or 'lock' it into the down position. That's fine, since the centerboard weighs about 500lbs, but when I'm sailing through waves, I hear and feel the centerboard bouncing around down there, knocking against the hull. Sometimes, the centerboard lifts so high that the cable pops off the wheel, which makes it very difficult to raise the centerboard at the end of the day, when I pull into the shallow waters of our dock!

Any advice? Am I overlooking any obvious way to lock the centerboard in the 'down' position while sailing?

Mar 20, 2004
Hunter 356 and 216 Portland, ME
WOW! we sail ours on the ocean and I've never had that problem... make sure that the pivot's not loose or worn. The only way to secure it down that I can think of would be to attach a tackle - like to the cable clevis - and pull it forward and secure it. It'll have to be a really strong point because there won't be much leverage at the top of the board.

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida
It is unlikely that a ballasted swing keel weighing 500 lbs. just lifts with boat movement. What you are probably experiencing is "keel slap" or side to side movement around a worn keel pivot bolt. I agree your swing keel should have a slot to allow a bolt to pass through the keel trunk and serve to lock it when in the down position. That might prevent the keel from jack knifing and destroying the trunk in case of a knock down. Excessive "keel slap" is also dangerous and needs to be corrected so a keel removal and survey might be in order. Due to the weight inquire with other h216 owners about the proper procedure to follow.

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida