Standing rigging connectors

Sep 2, 2016
Catalina 22 Juneau, AK
Appologies for the total newbie question, but the standing rigging on our 1976 Catalina 22 has me scratching my head.

I've scoured the C22 Technical Manual (and updates), as well as awesome blogs like the Catalina 22 Experiment, Chip Ford, and Christopher Jin. Unfortunately, I can't find a clear explanation of how the standing rigging should be connected to the chainplates. I think our setup might be a little Frankensteined, and I have a lot of bonus pieces from the PO ... including two snap shackles.

Could anyone share close-up photos of how their shrouds and stays connect to the deck? Or is there a description somewhere I've missed? Is there a better way to do it?

I'm attaching some pics of what we've got.

Other questions:

- Shouldn't we have a car for the main sheet? How does that attach to the stern rail?
- Any photos of how to rig the running rigging? I can figure it out, but it'd be nice to have a starting place.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

Jan 1, 2006
Slickcraft 26 Sailfish
Mostly you have turnbuckles there either open or closed body. They screw into a stud which is, hopefully swaged, onto the shroud or stay. The starboard side aft may connect to a fork which is swaged or otherwise attached to the shroud. The picture of the shroud termini is consistent with the studs screwing into the turnbuckle bodies which are in place on the chainplates. I can't tell which is which from the photo. At least one has a wire loop on the terminus which would likely go to that Starboard aft turnbuckle. Think about changing out that one. The last picture is probably a "Topping lift" which is to hold the boom up when the sail is down so that the cockpit is usable. It isn't considered standing rigging.