Single-handing a Catalina 310?

Apr 6, 2013
Catalina 310 Annapolis
I am looking at doing some single handing of my 2002 Catalina 310 this summer. I have an auto-pilot which has the tacking feature and the lines are led aft and the winches for the jib sheets, as with all Catalina 310s I think, are pretty near at hand. The previous owner also installed a bow thruster for ease of docking. I have extensive single-handing experience on my previous, though smaller, sailboat, a Seaward 25. But the 310 is a good bit bigger.

While I realize there is a lot that goes into the question, and it is pretty subjective, I am interested in the experience of other Catalina 310 owners who single-hand their boats. Easy? Hard? Things to do to make it simpler? Thanks in advance!

Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
lots of sailors intentionally learn to single-hand every boat they have had regardless of size as it provides a level of safety to all aboard should anyone/everyone else be incapable, seasick, etc...
Should be pretty easy to do with a 31 ft boat rigged as you describe.

Sailing is the easy part. To state the obvious, the two more challenging things you should practice are picking up a mooring single-handed and obviously docking.

leo310

Dec 15, 2006
Catalina 310 44 Campbell River BC
Picking up a mooring on a 310 is easy just revers to the ball, pick up the line then walk to the bow. What I find is docking into a tight slip with X wind @ 15 kts

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Congrats for your new to you boat.
Lots of learning fun as you jump on a new boat. It is a lot like riding a bigger bike. Al the steps are similar, but perhaps a little slower.

Solo sailing any boat is all about being prepared for what is about to happen. Being familiar with the gear is important. Raising and lowering the sails are great if you have an AP. Aim into the wind and quickly manage the sail.