New member, novice sailor, couple questions

Jan 30, 2019
Captiva Yachts Inc Sanibel 17/18 Belleview
Good morning all, I'm a new member and novice sailor (11.5' kayak that I built a sailing kit for, stitched my own sails too!). I have recently decided to upgrade from my current 1 man yacht...lol...to one that I can have my family (5 of us total, 3 kids 16yo daughter 15yo son 10yo son) with me on. Enter my new to me slightly more family friendly '85 sanibel 17/18, she needs a thorough cleaning and running rigging but is sound otherwise. Most things I can do or figure out on my own but have run into a minor technical hiccup concerning the boom to mast attachment. I know the sail lugs and rounded end of boom hardware (sorry, forgot the name of the part in question) go into the masts slot, but what holds said boom up when we decide to lower the main? Not sure giving my wife a boom induced headache would do me any good. And secondly my sails are in pretty good shape, but what can I use to clean them? They have a few stains and one looks a little dingy in spots. The spreaders are also a concern, something just doesn't look right. And lastly should there be an aft stay? There's no place on the mast head or stern that would indicate one belongs there. Or do the shrouds act as the aft stay since they attach approx 2' behind the mast step? Thank you for your time and advice, I've got many other questions but do believe that's enough for now.

Attachments

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
I know the sail lugs and rounded end of boom hardware (sorry, forgot the name of the part in question) go into the masts slot, but what holds said boom up when we decide to lower the main?
Welcome, we're always glad to answer questions from new sailors and encourage them to sail.

The fitting that connects the boom to the mast is called a goose neck.