Im boat shopping

Dec 11, 2016
Oday 240 Lake Jacomo
Ill start by saying that I am new to sailing. I have spent my life in/on/around the water but in power boats. So, Im not new to boating but know very little about sailing other than that I had had soem oppertunities to sail with some people and have really enjoyed it.. I guess Im getting older and no longer crave the speed/noise of a power boat.

I have been looking at 25-27 ft boats... and have started to lean towards the Catalina 25.

I THINK that is a good starter size boat that my wife and I could enjoy. Our local lake has a max size of 30 ft. I also THINK I want the swing keel for easy trailering and removal when needed. We HAVE to remove our boats from the lake by Dec 1 each year.

I live in Missouri and have found this one: http://www.sailboatlistings.com/view/56899
(I hope that it is ok that I posted that link?)

Anyhow, I am curious if that seems like a fair price. It needs a new bottom job and the local sailboat shop has quoted me a price of $1500.00 PLUS paint... They tell me it had a blister repair done in the past and it was a poor job.

I kind of think that it is over priced with the work that is needed on the stress crack and the bottom paint job... but I honestly dont know.

It also has a stress crack in the gel coat in one area...Ill post a pic of that separately.

Im curious what other questions I should be asking.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Jul 14, 2015
Catalina 30 Stillhouse Hollow Marina
Great boat. That was my first midsize boat and we loved it. Really not very trailer-able for setting up and taking down. Price with trailer and it's current setup is not bad. Check for soft spots or depressions around where standing rigging enters the deck, the base of mast, and the entire top surface. If that stress crack is not soft, a good fiberglass repair should handle it. Check around where keel is attached for cracking.

Feb 20, 2011
Island Packet 35 Tucson, AZ/San Carlos, MX