Hunter 28.5 Where do the sinks drain to?

NCWilm

Apr 20, 2020
Hunter 1987 28.5 Little River, SC
Hello everyone. I'm a new owner and new to the forum. I've got a 1987 Hunter 28.5 which I purchased a few months ago. I'm just learning the systems. I found the water fill cap. That was well hidden under the anchor, thank you designers. But the current issue is my sinks in the bath and in the galley are backed up. Where do the sinks drain to? Do they drain to the same holding tank as the head or is there are a through hull with a sea cock? I know this is elementary, but you don't know until you know. Thank you in advance.

Jan 4, 2006
Hunter 310 West Vancouver, B.C.
Welcome to the site. Gonna take a wild guess here (as my boat's a little different) but the head sink and galley sink drains go to thru hulls which should be easy to find. I'm afraid you've probably bought a couple of plugged drain lines in the purchase. Probably time for new ones anyway if they're original.

You DID open the thru hulls didn't you :doh: ? ? ?

Jan 7, 2011
Oday 322 East Chicago, IN
Follow the drain lines and find the thru-hull valves and open them.

You should map out ALL of the thruhulls, so you know exactly where they are, and how to close them.

Greg

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida