First time sailor, seeking advice

Nov 16, 2015
Oday 25 Lake Michigan
Hello, so I went out my girlfriend's stepfather's 35ft sailboat this past summer and decided I want to get into the sport. I have zero sailing experience. I am looking for something I can trailer due to limited availability of slips and the $$ involved with slips/moorings.

I am looking for something to go out on the bay in northern Michigan and learn to sail, and do some weekend trips near by either anchoring or transient slips.

I have narrowed my search down between two boats: an Oday 25, swing keel or a Catalina 25 swing keel.

I have spoke with marinas nearby and can keep my sailboat at Marina rigged with mast up on my trailer for about $600 a summer. Hopefully that should cut a lot of the hassle out of not having a slip.

I'm most nervous about launching and retrieval of the boat due to its size and weight and lack of experience.

I would love any input on anything about either of these boats, and launching and retrieval stories, difficulty, what to expect...

And any advice for a labdlubber like myself in general!

Hope to hear from ya guys!

Last edited:

Apex

Jun 19, 2013
C&C 30 Elk Rapids
I had a catalina 25 fin keel, a very nice sailing boat. Have an O'day now, but in the 25ft range, I would opt again for the Catalina. Sails quite a bit better than the same size O'Day IMHO...

For a swing keel, check the keel trunk carefully. Lastly Stu's link to the association is the place to learn about Catalina 25's bar none

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
I can keep at marina on trailer with mast up!
I did that with a C22. This is certainly a BIG question you should ask the C25 guys on their forum. I have been following that forum since I used to have a C25. They will know. Good luck.

Jun 29, 2010
Beneteau First 235 Lake Minnetonka, MN