Confusion - Hunter vs. Rhodes vs. S2

Status
Not open for further replies.

JimGo

Jun 30, 2011
None yet None yet None yet
I'm relatively new to sailing (taken a few lessons, gone out single-handed several times in a 14' rental, and did some sailing years ago in a 19), but really enjoy it a lot. Enough, in fact, that I'm very seriously considering purchasing a boat. My wife seems to enjoy being out on the water too (as do our kids, ages 5 and 3), though she's not as convinced that we need a boat. So, I'm trying to find something that will fit our needs/desires and budget, and that's been an interesting task.

A little about us: we live in the Philadelphia suburbs, about 20 minutes from Peace Valley Park and about 45 minutes from Lake Nockamixon. We're also about 45 minutes from the Delaware River (both North and South of Philadelphia), and about 2 hours (with moderate traffic) from the New Jersey shore, including Ocean City, Stone Harbor, Avalon, etc. Peace Valley is where my wife and I took lessons, and although the lake is small, we like it. It's never too busy, and the people seem nice. Peace Valley won't allow boats bigger than 16'. Lake Nockamixon does allow larger boats, as does (obviously) the Delaware and shore. We currently own a 2005 Honda Pilot (though we're starting to think it may be time to update that vehicle), which will have a towing capacity of 3500 lbs once I get the appropriate transmission cooler and install it. One last bit of background info: my in-laws have a condo in Avalon, NJ, and they (and we) hope that we'll be using it fairly often next season. Oh yeah, sorry, one other bit of background: my boys and wife have all insisted that the boat MUST have a cabin. It can be SMALL, but it must have a cabin.