boat shoes

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 22, 2009
Hunter 31 '83_'87 Blue Water Marina
I feel more than a little foolish positing this, but...

I have been wearing Sperry Topsiders for a few years and they're in need of replacement.

I never found them REALLY comfortable, actuallly, standing long time is painful.

Have you had any experience with boat shoes that were comfortable to stand in for hours?

If so, what brand?

just thought i'd ask...

Ross

Jun 15, 2004
Islander/Wayfairer 30 sail number 25 Perryville,Md.
Try Nikes or such. My Sperry's are good for hot weather but I go to athletic shoes when it gets cold.

Oct 2, 2008
Pearson/ 530 Strafford, NH
Crocks, kayak shoes, and barefoot when hot; Nikes and New balance when cold.
All U Get

Aug 28, 2011
Oday 25 warwick
Vans have non-marking soles, good grip on the deck, and are really comfortable. Ive been using them for years.

Oct 13, 2007
Hunter 37.5 Plattsburgh
I have found that any brand of boat shoes will be comfortable as lond as the sole is thick enough. The sperry shoes with the thin white rubber soles are great while on the boat,but on land,step on a small stone and you feel it through the shoe.

Dec 2, 1999
Hunter Vision-36 Rio Vista, CA.
You may want to try some of the "higher quality" shoes (Dubarry, Mephisto, Sperry Gold Cup etc.)

If you don't want to spend the higher prices, consider a new insole. Don't use the gel ones, get ones that are build on a fiberglass bed with higher instep support. I have several pair of deck shoes (that is about the only thing I own) and I have started using removable insoles (doctors orders) and I have found a big difference.

Jun 4, 2004
Hunter 376 Annapolis MD
I no longer use sperry shoes. Since the company was sold some years ago, the new owners appear to use a sole composition that hardens and slips on a deck.