Backstay for a Hunter 216

Jun 26, 2018
Hunter 216 Branford
Has anyone ever added a backstay to a Hunter 216? I'm considering a backstay with a fiberglass flicker or running backstays that do not go all the way to the masthead. any advice or opinions?

Jun 8, 2004
-na -NA Anywhere USA
Hunter adopted what many have become use to be known as a backless stay rig commonly referred to as the B &R rig. However, many other daysailors of different brands do not have a backstay either. The spreaders are swept back so the shrouds can carry the load. Ok I am not an engineer but here is what many do not know. Yes the mainsails are generally bigger vs. a traditional mainsail where there is a backstay giving more power to the mainsail. The cockpit is more user friendly and it is easier to set up. Other brands of daysailors have the same configuration while some do have backstays. Hunter went to the B & R no backstay set up years ago and has proven itself even on the 216. I would not recommend what you want to do as a backstay would obstruct the mainsail boom from movement unless you also cut the boom and sail down and on that boat I would not suggest that.

Jun 26, 2018
Hunter 216 Branford
The backstay would not be for mainsail shape, it would be to carry the downwind loads of a nearly masthead symmetrical spinnaker off of a Catalina 22 to keep the mast from inverting or even failing. My boat is currently stored for the winter, but I was wondering if the boom was too far aft to handle a backstay even if it had a fiberglass flicker to get it up and over the main. I'm also considering running backstays on either side for this reason. I see that in the parts store on this website there is a new and different masthead for the 216 with a backstay attachment and wouldn't be difficult to mount a flicker to the top. I'll have to set the boat up in the spring to see which option I'll go with.

https://shop.hunterowners.com/hp/part.php?m=216&c=6&p=52955

Mar 20, 2004