In Mast or Slab

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 22, 2008
Macgregor 26X Phoenix AZ
Hi All,

I'm considering buying a Hunter 33 and debating in mast furling vs. bigger main with slab reefing.

Any comments?

Jun 2, 2004
Hunter 37-cutter, '79 41 23' 30"N 82 33' 20"W--------Huron, OH
Your post will start a debate for sure. I have only sailed two boats with furling mains. I chartered a Hunter 460 for four days, the main was still large, the wind blew, and we still couldn't reach close to hull speed. Another time a day charter on a new Catalina 30 and it was a dog but the air was fairly light. But I have no experience flaking a large main. My H37C is no problem, especially if I use the lazy jacks. I like a big roach main and battens. I am only 69 so would go with the big main. Older folks might like to furl.

Sep 20, 2006
Hunter 33 Georgian Bay, Ontario, Canada
I have no problem hitting Hull speed on my '05 H33 with In-Mast furling. Should be no major debate. In-mast serves a purpose and people either love it or don't. I could find just as many for as those against. :D

Jan 22, 2008
Hunter 37 C sloop Punta Gorda FL
Cost difference around here is stupendous, that's why I have no experience with furling mains

Dec 19, 2006
Hunter 36 Punta Gorda
Depends

We need more info from you like what type of sailing do you do and do you sail single handed much,do you race and want all the speed you can get with the big batten sail.
I have inmast since 2007 and love it but I don't race but living here in Florida Charlotte Harbor and while crewing on another boat saw 2 Hunters with inmast and vertical battens do very well against other none inmast boats,I wish I ordered the vertical battens but I also can reach hull speed and even do very well with heavy wind and the main reefed half way.
I sail a lot without good experienced sailing crew so being able to reef by myself is great and so easy once you learn the proper way to sail with inmast.