Pumpout Carts Suck

Mar 26, 2011
Corsair F-24 MK I Deale, MD
I have no idea how many times I have pumped out. About a dozen times per year for ... a lot of years. I have never had a problem with the nozzle. Not once. I might be lucky or I might be doing something special that I am not aware of.

In this state (Washington) many marinas will give you a free pumpout adapter, or Washington Sea Grant boater outreach will send you one, if you ask. I have never bothered, because I've never had a problem, so I don't know anything about the efficacy of those adapters, though I understand their purpose.

I am a former EMT and I worked for some years in the ER. So, I am very conscientious about handling bio-contaminated items. Since I don't gown up and don a face shield when I pump out, I prefer to handle things as little as possible. If the hose brushes my leg, for example, those pants are going in a plastic bag and treated as a bio-hazard. A small boat is a terrible place to bring bio-contamination.

So, the idea of the additional handling of an adapter just doesn't appeal. If I was ever sprayed, my attitude would almost certainly be different. Then, you have this contaminated adapter to disinfect and store. I know many people just store it in a plastic bag but that is nasty. I disinfect the deck key and anything it touched before it ever leaves the deck - that's how careful I am. So, you can see why the idea of an adapter grosses me out. I don't mean to disparage their use - I get it.
I get it. But this is not public restroom poop, this is yours. Sort of like changing a diaper or using TP on your own butt. Just sayin.' Wash your hands, certainly, but don't freak out. This is no different than changing a diaper. Man-up, guys.:laugh:

Mar 26, 2011