Electric Sailboat Drives

Sep 11, 2022
Catalina 34 mk 1.5 Rockland ME
I like the idea of a hybrid. I'm interested to hear your approach to this. I know Vetus made one, I don't think they do any longer.

My boat is such that putting enough battery on it for that is not practical, unfortunately. It would be cool to have a sailboat specifically designed for hybrid propulsion, with a huge, low-down battery bank.
It'll be a retrofit that keeps the original diesel and couples the motor to the prop shaft, although I'm lucky in that my boat has a bit of extra space where I think I can fit everything. As an electrical engineer I'm designing custom controls. I haven't found good off-the-shelf options that aren't offensively expensive, so hopefully I can build something other people might want to buy too...

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
How many days do you actually drive more than 200 miles?
At least three weekends a month... and the distance is 315 miles (one way). I've wanted an electric truck for years but.... I can't make it work yet. If I could get a truck that had a 400 mile range... I would put a solar panel over the bed cover for charging during the week (I have a short comute to work) with the occasional plug-in... but I would still need that 315 mile range (with some buffer) for the weekends.

jviss

Feb 5, 2004
Tartan 3800 20 Westport, MA
I still have my dirty little 8 horse Tohatsu 2-stroke
Don't EVER get rid of that! Two strokes are unavailable in the U.S., especially since Evinrude went teats-up, and you can't beat them for horsepower to weight ratio. I have two Merc 15HP 2-strokes that I'm keeping alive - 73lb. vs. about 110 for a 15HP 4-stroke!

Apr 11, 2020
MacGregor 26s Scott's Landing, Grapevine TX