Catalina 16.5 Rigging Question

JES7

Apr 3, 2023
Catalina 16.5 Muskegan
Hey there, I am new to sailing and just purchased a 2004 Catalina 16.5 and had a couple rigging questions. For the most part I’m comfortable with everything except a few lines attached to the mast that I’m unsure of what they’re for (see pictures and description below). Thanks for your help!

LINE #1
The boat has a FurIing system for the Jib so I’m wondering if this line is a halyard for a standard jib?

1st picture
Port side toward bottom of mast (Below)
Pic 1.jpg

2nd Picture
Forward side of Mast towards top – line goes through the block (Below)
Pic 2.jpg

3rd Picture
Forward side of mast towards bottom – line is tied and has snap hook on end (Below)
Pic 3.jpg

LINE#2
Is this a line to hold the boom level?

1st Picture
Starboard Side near bottom of mast. Bottom of line is in a clam cleat (Below)
Pic 1.jpg

2nd picture
Aft side of mast . Top of line is connected to the top of the mast (Below)
Pic 2.jpg

Line #3
No idea what this one is for

1st Picture
Forward near bottom of the mast. Line is in a clam cleat (Below)
Pic 1.jpg

2nd picture
Line (green) goes through a block held by a rope (blue) that goes over the spreader bars (Below)
Pic 2.jpg

3rd picture
Rope comes from block in previous picture and is hooked on this loop (Below)
Pic 3.jpg

JES7

Apr 3, 2023
Catalina 16.5 Muskegan
Thanks Don. I did google and watched most of the videos and read most of the content on the 16.5 but nothing directly confirmed the three lines I'm questioning.

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
Line #1: looks like a halyard for a spinnaker, asym, most probably.

Line two: looks like it might be a topping lift, just as you thought.

Line three: don't know. Did the previous owner sail with a radar reflector or hoist an anchor light at night?

I'm not familiar with your boat's rigging, but those all look like they are owner installed, maybe not the a symmetrical halyard.