electric winch handle

Feb 21, 2013
Hunter 46 Point Richmond, CA
Works very well for normal winching. I would advise NOT to put excessive load on it otherwise it will fail.

Apr 12, 2007
Hunter 420 Herrington Harbor South
I have had one (winchrite) for 10 years performs well but as sail sfbay said don't put a heave load on it. I have replaced the motor when it burned out with their new brushless motor and it continues to function. very expensive and heavy. in one of these forms someone mentioned an cordless impact drill as an alternative. Purchased one and am extremally satisfied with it. Much lighter, faster, reversible, 1/3 the cost and not as finicky as the WinchRite. Also functions as a drill;). recommend you look in to one of those. I have been using it for 3 years GREAT results.

Nov 21, 2019
Catalina C30 4200 Muskegon, Michigan
are thoughs two speed winches?
if not, does it work well?
I have to haul a main sail up a 42ft mast

Feb 21, 2013
Hunter 46 Point Richmond, CA
From WinchRite: This electric winch handle works on all single and two speed winches where a standard eight-point handle is utilized. It features a chimed soft start speed acceleration and a sealed circuit board. Operate the WinchRite handle at the lowest speed of your winch to ensure maximum pull and lowest battery consumption. 0-130 RPM via Variable Speed Technology in Both Directions Allowing for Two-Speed Winch Rotations.

Just do not strain it. If the halyard gets stuck winching it up the mast then stop and re-assess what you doing.

Sep 20, 2014
Rob Legg RL24 Chain O'Lakes
I would second the notion of using a cordless drill. I use one on my swing keel. It works very well. Much faster and easier than a hand crank. I can't imagine what the benifit would for an electric winch handle over a cordless drill, especially with the newest brushless dc motors. They will go slow and have tons of torque.

Jan 22, 2008
Hunter 340 Baytown TX
are thoughs two speed winches?
if not, does it work well?