Bad Smell While Flushing Head

Nov 7, 2010
Hunter 340 Ocean Gate, NJ
Just looking for a little guidance to resolve a smelly issue on my '97 Hunter 340. Recently when we flush the head we get an odor in the aft cabin and a strong odor in the cockpit area of the boat. It lingers for a few moments and then dissipates. I keep the sea-cock closed and we flush with freshwater. Could this be a vent issue or am I looking at a hose problem. I am a novice when it comes to the workings of the Marine Head so any help would be appreciated.

Jul 12, 2011
Leopard 40 Jupiter, Florida
Suggest you go on-line, or to your nearest West Marine, and buy a bottle of Raritan KO and CP (for cleaning), and treat tank according to directions. That should take care of the immediate problem.

Invest in Peggy's book and learn about how to minimize odors - Trust me, it is the best $23 you'll spend on happy boating: http://shop.sailboatowners.com/prod.php?53615

Dec 2, 1997
- - LIttle Rock
Recently when we flush the head we get an odor in the aft cabin and a strong odor in the cockpit area of the boat. It lingers for a few moments and then dissipates.
The odor in the cockpit is most likely odor from inside the tank forced out the vent. What are you using in the tank?
There are 3 likely sources of the odor in the aft cabin: 1. The odor out the tank vent is finding its way into the aft cabin via an open hatch or port. That is the ONLY way, unless a tank is leaking, that a tank can be the source of odor INSIDE a boat.
2. permeated hoses. As a flush goes through a permeated hose it puts pressure on the hose wall, pushing odor out of the hose. 3. a leaky fitting on your holding tank, which--if the hose from your toilet to the tank goes through the aft cabin--has to be in the same area. However, a leaky tank fitting is the LEAST likely source because that area would be stinky all the time, not just when you flush.