Volvo Seal, Replaced With PSS.

Dec 31, 2016
Beneteau Oceanis 351 Charlottetown
One step closer to launching this year (only another 20,000, 5 minute jobs to do). Replaced the original Volvo seal with a PSS, and Cutlass bearing as well. I had mentioned in another post that I thought I'd have to build up my stern tube, but after checking around found out I ordered the wrong bellows, (the right size is the one on the right in the picture, and wasn't available from my local dealer). so all is coming together, chopped off the pesky nipple that resides aft of the original and filled the hole with epoxy,. I still have a few things to tidy up, as the photo's show, one being the hose that the original po had to lube the Volvo seal, I will plug that. Interesting that the Beneteau cutlass bearing is solid rubber, with no bronze outer casing.

Attachments

DougM

Jul 24, 2005
Beneteau 323 Manistee, MI
Explain why you have the shaft zincs inside the hull? I am no expert, but
I would think that they would have to be exposed to water to be of any value.

Ward H

Nov 7, 2011
Catalina 30 Mk II Barnegat, NJ
Looks like he is using it has a lock collar to keep that half of the seal from sliding back.

Dec 31, 2016
Explain why you have the shaft zincs inside the hull? I am no expert, but
I would think that they would have to be exposed to water to be of any value.
It's a cheap collar lock.

Nov 23, 2009
Beneteau Oceanis 361 Clipper --
one being the hose that the original po had to lube the Volvo seal, I will plug that. Interesting that the Beneteau cutlass bearing is solid rubber, with no bronze outer casing.
Why plug the hose going to Volvo seal? You still need to lubricate the PSS from somewhere, right?
I believe Beneteau uses solid rubber cutlass bearing because they are easier to remove from the skeg in comparison to bronze ones used on boats with access from both sides.

Dec 31, 2016
Why plug the hose going to Volvo seal? You still need to lubricate the PSS from somewhere, right?