Yet another Air Conditioning Thread

Kermit

Jul 31, 2010
AquaCat 12.5 17342 Wateree Lake, SC
We have a 1999 H260. We're on a mission to cool our boat so we can sleep on it in the summer. Yes, I've read about a million threads on air conditioning but haven't found where anyone has a portable unit/carry-on unit that works just the way they want it to. The closest thing to a satisfied customer I've found is one who installed a permanent unit with duct work. It cost him about $4600 in materials. Way too much for our budget. We don't have a generator and plan to use shore power.

So, I'm looking for feedback from those who are happy with their A/C, what it is, how it is used and how much it costs. We're in South Carolina so our summers are brutal. Even at night.

Thanks!

Jun 8, 2004
-na -NA Anywhere USA
Just responded so check yur email. I am an expert on install of air conditioning even on a 240 but you had to install shore power as well. I used to use Mermaid. I am checking on the others., Good to know you will get your monies back on that used Cruise Air unit as it sounds like it has a leak somewhere.

Sep 3, 2013
Hunter 22 Lake Eufaula
Hi Kermit, I was also in the same boat as far as A/C for my H22, I found a used Small window unit and just put it in the hatch way then slid the hatch cover on top of it to hold it in place... cheap and easy, then in the morning just took it down. we placed ours in the floor of the deck during the day. the A/C cost me $50. found it on Craigslist. we have a extension power cord running to the Shore Power plug. the unit is only 15 or so lbs and cools our boat nicely! the wifey for lifey puts a small fan on the table to help get the cool are to the forward v berth sleeping quarters. If we need to exit the boat while the A/C is running we just exit the forward hatch, but we can also slide the aft overhead exit forward and step out that way too. just need long legs for that exit. :)

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida