What to do about missing Venture 21 cabin doors?

NP_Oak

Nov 28, 2016
MacGregor Venture 21 San Francisco
Hi,

A friend and I are fixing up a MacGregor Venture 21 built around 1975 and our main challenge is that it is missing its horizontal and vertical cabin doors. I found a website or two that sells MacGregor parts but they don't seem to have cabin doors.

Should we get something custom made? Is there such a thing as a junk yard for sailboats where we might find the parts?

There are two rails that the top part of the door slid on but they are not completely parallel. The distance between them is slightly less at the end near the mast. I have enclosed photos.

I am a novice sailor and I would love to hear anyone's advice about the easiest way to get this sorted out.
MacGregor door.jpg
MacGregor door close.jpg

Johnb

Jan 22, 2008
Hunter 37-cutter Richmond CA
One possibility for the top is just make it hinged, at the bow end. so it simply lifts up and flips over. This arrangement worked pretty well on the 23 foot Clipper marine that was my previous boat. Basically you are going to build a box that is shaped to fit somewhat snugly over the opening with "lips" coming down over the raised border that is around the edge of the companionway so rain and spray don't come in. If you do go this route then it is a good idea idea to provide some way of holding it partially open. Also, when it was opened and flipped over I used to tie it down so a gust of wind could not pick it up and flip it back - potentially into someones face. Plywood, glue, screws, paint, a jigsaw and some hinges and you are good to go. A cardboard mock up is a good idea - will it hinge up and over without hitting the boom for example?

As far as the hatch boards, more plywood. One big one (easy) or up to 3 that just slides in. If you go with multiple boards one can be transparent plastic to bring in more light. You cut where they join at an angle so rain etc stays out. Tap Plastics is your friend.