What boats qualify as Affordable, Low Maintenance, Blue Water??

Feb 3, 2021
West Wight Potter 19 Lloydminster
Question: What boat/boats should I be looking for? I am very new to sailing. Currently learning the ropes on a Potter 19. Having a blast and cant wait to upgrade. I would like to move up to a 28 to 34 foot blue water type boat. I am not interested in teak wood and mahogany trim etc. The lower the maintenance the better. Total fiberglass would be great. Well built for blue water. Practical is what I want. Not concerned with appearance. What boats would fall into this category?

Jul 7, 2004
Hunter 30T Cheney, KS
Appearance isn't your only concern. You will have many systems to maintain. Good maintenance history would be your best bet.
One of the previous owners of Bella replaced all of the brightwork topside with composite. Zero maintenance and yet I am constantly working on her.

dLj

Mar 23, 2017
Belliure 41 Sailing back to the Chesapeake
Question: What boat/boats should I be looking for? I am very new to sailing. Currently learning the ropes on a Potter 19. Having a blast and cant wait to upgrade. I would like to move up to a 28 to 34 foot blue water type boat. I am not interested in teak wood and mahogany trim etc. The lower the maintenance the better. Total fiberglass would be great. Well built for blue water. Practical is what I want. Not concerned with appearance. What boats would fall into this category?
You are from Saskatchewan? That's about as far from any ocean as I could imagine living. Where are you going blue water sailing?

dj

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston