Water buildup in v-berth

Jdtran

Dec 2, 2018
Catalina 30 Vancouver, BC
Hi. Just bought our boat and after getting into it a bit more, found a little pool of water that builds up in the v-berth, at the back port side adjacent to the bath. Looks like it's coming from the back side panel toward the cieling area.
Since I'm new to sailing and sailboats, would it be a good idea to remove the paneling for further inspection?
Thanks for the help/advice

May 7, 2011
C - 30 # 3573 Lake NormanNC formerly Bflo NY
Is your anchor locker drain blocked? Water can get into the vee if it backs up.
Also water on my sink top ended up on the vee.
You have a major bulkhead there not “panelling”. This ain’t a 1960’s ranch decor.

SG

Feb 11, 2017
J/Boat J/160 Annapolis
There is a compression post (as I recall) on the Catalina 30's. The mast is stepped on the deck. (i.e., it doesn't come through the deck to rest directly on the keel.)

Is the leak in the vicinity of where instrument wires penetrate or the compression post might have some issues? (That would be at the aft end of the head enclosure, I believe).

Jan 18, 2016
Catalina 387 Dana Point
Leaking stanchion. Likely the one that vents the holding tank - just forward of the port in the head. Tends to leak more often than other stanchions. Will cause water right where you said, and on top of the storage shelf too.

How to find a leak:
Dry everything really well. Everything - deck, cabin sides, overhead, etc.
Watch where it tends to gather and have a helper start hosing off the boat.
Trace the wetness back.

Rebedding deck hardware is pretty easy - look at Mainesail's articles - and buy the butyl tape that he sells. Best thing to bed hardware with.

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida