Watches

jviss

Feb 5, 2004
Tartan 3800 20 Westport, MA
Anyone else into watches?

I always wanted a high end watch, a Rolex or an Omega. So, about 13 years ago I got a gorgeous Omega Seamaster.

omega-seamaster-300-m-chronometer-22545000-l-9d03a8.png

Seamaster 300 M CHRONOMETER

What a disappointment! I have fixed this thing a half dozen times - a snapped-off stem, and bracelet issues. I even spent 4120 on the tool to open the back. It would be about $550 to send it back to Omega in Switzerland for a service, which it needs. Ugh.

So, my backup - Invicta! These things are great. Seiko automatic movement, stainless case, available in numerous styles and colors. I'm thinking the Pro Diver in particular. Just got a new one on Amazon for $68!!!

I think it's gorgeous and functional, watertight, and so far, keeping within +/- 5 seconds per day, which is within chronograph specs. Can't beat them.

2023-08-08 16.08.10.jpg

I'm a big Invicta fan. Any others out there?

jv

BarryL

May 21, 2004
Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 409 Mt. Sinai, NY
Hi,

Beautiful watch.

I'm a REFORMED watch geek, with Omega being my favorite brand. I've had good luck with my Omega's, all have been reliable and durable. I stopped wearing a nice watch onboard after I lost a very nice speedmaster overboard. The bracelet failed and the watch is now under 50' of water somewhere near Mt Sinai.

Around 6 years ago I bought a Garmin fitness watch. I have become totally addicted to it and now that's pretty much the only watch I wear. If I'll be at sea for a long time (more than 3 days) I will wear a cheap casio digital watch because the battery lasts for ever and the alarm is loud enough to wake me.

Now my fancy watches sit around and collect dust.

Barry

May 25, 2012
john alden caravelle 42 sturgeon bay, wis
citizen dive watch. 15 years and counting.