Two questions about roller furling jibs

ToddS

Sep 11, 2017
Beneteau 373 Cape Cod
I have been sailing for 20 years or so... but am almost entirely self-taught, and until last year, nearly all of my experience was on just one boat which I inherited suddenly from my father-in-law. I had sailed with him a handful of times before he died, and just assumed that that the things he did, (the only things I knew about sailing at that point) were what I should do as well.

Things I've done which I'm now questioning:
1) My old boat had a short length of line attached to the bottom of the forestay below the jib's roller-furling drum. Per my father-in-law's recommendation, whenever the done sailing for the day, he would tie off the drum to this fixed point, so that even if the furling line were to fail, chafe, or otherwise somehow let go, the jib would not come unfurled. For 20 years, I blindly did the same. My new boat didn't come with such a line in place, and now I've added one, but wonder if maybe that's overkill. Other boats I see generally don't do this. My (current) furling line passes through a clutch, then is cleated ahead of a tied coil while not in use. Slipping is quite unlikely, but unattended in a storm, it is not unimaginable that something on deck could find its way into a position that could chafe through it. Very few other lines anywhere on the boat would cause as much havoc if they failed in a storm (other than mooring pennants), and few are as small/weak, compounding the danger. The other super-dangerous-if-it-snapped stuff (mooring lines, stays) are WAY more chafe-resistant. Does anyone else tie off their furling drum preventing it from spinning open or does everyone else just trust that furling line?