Smoking Yanmar under load

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dubai

Nov 19, 2010
Hunter 326 Dubai
Haven't taken my Hunter 326 out for a while but have started the Yanmar 2GM20 engine & run for 15 - 20 min every couple of weeks.
Last weekend was going out for a sail. Engine started up fine but when selecting drive there was little or no power driving boat and lots of black smoke accompanied by blobs of oil floating on surface of the marina around the aft of boat. No smoke when engine running in neutral even when revved up, problem only occurs when engine forward or reverse selected. No temp alarms or oil pressure alarms on control panel.
Appreciate some feedback on what the problem may be.

Thanks for any help.

Aug 23, 2009
Hunter 30 Middle River MD
May Help

I'm a relative newbie so an old hand may have better answers, but classically diesels put out black smoke from incomplete combustion, my guess is timing could be off on the valves, injector issues and if the engine has an air cleaner look there as well. A dirty filter can restrict airflow. Also a possible issue can be problems with the return line in the fuel circuit. If the line isn't free running the injector can get overpowered and introduce more fuel than can be burned. This is generally a bigger issue under load as the pump delivers constant pressure but as the prop grabs water and loads up the engine turns slower and can't use all the fuel that your throttle setting is delivering. This last one is rare but can happen.

Last thought compression issues can also cause it if its only happening under load, but this as often as not is a blue rather than black smoke as lube oil get sucked in past failing rings.

Dec 16, 2006
Hunter 25.5 Cayuga Lake, NY