- Apr 14, 2010
Can someone tell me if there is a formal regulation that prohibits projecting anchors at the bow during racing? I cannot find any myself. Thanks. Lee
Download it here. The app is searchable in the Google Play Store under Sailboat Owners.
Sorry iPhone/iPad users, we are still waiting on Apple. :(Click the X in the upper right corner to make this go away
I love the image this produces even if it is unsportsman like! I also agree that I see no rule about keeping an anchor on the bow although I can see a danger if the anchor snagged something in a close crossing. Then again I have almost had my whisker pole snag a stay on a boat down wind before as well.What do you mean by projecting anchors?
If you mean throwing an anchor at another boat that would probably fall in the category of failing to give room for the other boat to keep clear, and might be a Rule 2 violation.
IMOMy issue is that someone hit my boat during a race and because he had his anchor on the bow, he caused me more damage, and I wanted to know if he had violated any racing rules for not removing his anchor.
Leaving an anchor mounted on the bow roller while racing is not against the rules, but it might not be the best place to have the weight. Did you file a protest or do turns as a penalty for having made contact? Did the other boat? We had an incident at the start of one race with a competitor who was barging between us and the Committee boat. He tried to cross our bow and our bow pulpit snagged on the outboard motor for the dinghy that he had hung on his stern pulpit. This pulled us to leeward into the boat next to us, and our momentum (we were going about six knots) pushed his stern around so that he bounced down the other side of the boat to our leeward. We withdrew from that race, somewhat shell-shocked. There were thousands of dollars of damage to each of the three boats. The barger stopped racing after that. We try not to race with things that stick out.
Don’t feel bad, that’s a change in the 2021 version of the RRS. The previous definition of finish was “hull, or crew or equipment in normal position”.‘though I’ve read the ROC a thousand times I missed the definition of “Finish” being when … hull crosses the line. Previously I thought that part of the boat includes the sail (Spinnaker), sprit pole or anchor platform/anchor. Apologies to any boat I may have finished incorrectly. Oops!
you can roll the hot dogs by tacking. (trust me it works) Just be careful when you open the lid, as contents may have shifted during flight...err...leg.In the Tampa Bay to Isla Mujeres race I have seen a boat grilling burgers on the rail grill as they crossed the start line. It would depend on the event's rules.
Finish USED to be any part of the boat, rigged in its regular position, that crossed the line. Now it's hull. (Which I guess does not include bow pulpit.) Buoy room used to be with overlap at two boat lengths. Now it's three. Rules get rewritten/tweaked every 4 years.‘though I’ve read the ROC a thousand times I missed the definition of “Finish” being when … hull crosses the line. Previously I thought that part of the boat includes the sail (Spinnaker), sprit pole or anchor platform/anchor. Apologies to any boat I may have finished incorrectly. Oops!