Questions Regarding Electroscan and My Current State of Mystification

May 29, 2021
Cascade 42 Sitka
I recently moved aboard a 1980 Cascade Highsides 42. I have ZERO experience with sailing or really anything mechanical at all--i am most comfortable (read: never really comfortable) in discussions pertaining to the Human Condition; i have ridden a bicycle most all my life and still barely trust that my minor repairs will work. The previous owner of the boat bought it from a bank who had repossessed it, so i have no real knowledge of the systems on the boat, save for what i am slowly piecing together. The toilet on board seems to be a manual pump flush using sea water intake, with the "dry" and "flush" knob--i believe a Raritan PHii? There also appears to be an inoperable Electroscan unit hooked up. The toilet smelled awful when i first moved aboard, and i have been able to knock that back a bit with Sudbury Toilet Conditioner (my local marine shop didn't have Raritan C.P., which i plan on ordering online). The piston connected to the pump handle in the manual flush toilet leaks, and i am wondering about best practices for addressing this--replace the whole pump or buy a rebuild kit? I also need help with understanding how to go about the rebuild/pump replacement (is there a valve i need to shut off to keep water from escaping when doing the repair/replacement?). I also wonder at thoughts about this apparent Electroscan that is onboard but not "working"--i see they are expensive, worth troubleshooting and trying to bring back online, if possible?

I live in southeast Alaska and will be utilizing this sailboat as a year-round, full-time liveaboard as primary function. I would like to eventually completely renovate the sailboat, and certainly plan on addressing the bathroom as an early project (would like ot completely reimagine it, perhaps put some tile down?), despite the context of my lack of money and skill.