Marine head conversion to MSD972 in a 24ft yacht

Sep 17, 2023
Paceship Westwind 24 Pointe-Claire
I'm the new custodian of a 1969 Paceship Westwind 24 sailing yacht. There's a waste outlet on the starboard deck, with a hose leading to an empty space under the v-berth. The holding tank and the toilet are long gone, and there's a disused fresh water tank in the bow. Having read some of Peggie's comments, I've purchased a Dometic 972, MSD discharge kit, and hold-down bracket kit. I'm new to this but we're at a club and it should be easy enough either to bring the cassette to a toilet, or bring the boat to the pump-out station. The MSD kit includes a hookup for an air vent. I don't see any outlet for this on my boat. Perhaps I'm not looking in the right place? Maybe they weren't vented back in the '60s? If I do need to add a thru-hull, what's the best practice? We do heel pretty hard, so presumably just below the rub rail, under the pump out? Then I could run the hoses together. The toilet's going in the centre of the boat, just forward of the mast. There is a bilge pump outlet on the port side. It's between the water line and the rub rail and it does take in some water. Any general advice and ideas would be most welcome.

Dec 2, 1997
- - LIttle Rock