Manual Bilge Pump Won't Work

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 30, 2010
Islander 28 Bayview
The manual Bilge pump does not work in the O'day 25 that I just purchased. Feels like it is not primed. Pictures attached. The pump exits into the sink drain out the through hull for the bathroom sink.

Here are some questions for anyone that might be able to share some info:

Is it normal to exit pump to sink drain?
The sink drain and the bilge pump is put together with a bunch of clear poly hoses and clamps. While this system does not leek when using the sink, Is adequte to hold a good prime for the pump?

I am not familiar with this type of pump, is it re-buildable?

If I add an electric bilge pump, can I just add another hose to all of these poly hoses and use the same through hole exit?

wow alot of questions, I am a rookie, but I really want a bilge pump system that works dependably!

Attachments

Ross

Jun 15, 2004
Islander/Wayfairer 30 sail number 25 Perryville,Md.
It is called a diaphragm pump and it is the model of simplicity. There are flapper valves at the inlet and the outlet. By some method dump some water into the inlet side and opperate the handle if that doesn't change anything remove the screws that hold the inlet flange and the outlet flange to the pump body. DON"T DROP ANY PIECES. clean everything and put it back together with some water in side. It should suck and blow if the valves are working.

MrUnix

Mar 24, 2010
Hunter 23 Gainesville, FL