Looking to buy a Hunter 30' from 1978- Thoughts/Suggestions?

Mar 17, 2016
Hunter Looking To Buy Hunter 30_78-83 Syracuse, NY
Hi! I am looking to purchase my first sailboat and a Hunter 30' from 1978 just recently caught my eye. However, I grew up on a Catalina 25' and am not too familiar with this model and was hopeful to get your insights into any thoughts/suggestions/issues that I should be aware of before I make my decisions. A couple concerns I have and would like comments on is should I be concerned about the age of the boat. Since it was built in 1978, I feel like I have gotten confusing reviews about the quality of them vs. later models from the 80's....

May 12, 2004
Hunter Cherubini 30 New Port Richey
It's not so much the age of the boat as it is how well it was taken care of. I have been sailing my '77 h30 for 19 years and have placed / repaired just about everything in her. There is a ton of info regarding the Cherubini models on this site. Look in the archives and search Cherubini 30's, Hunter 30, from years 1975 thru '82. Also look at owner reviews on this site. A Google search will turn up lots of info. Like cb just posted, do get a survey. Good luck.

kito

Sep 13, 2012
1979 Hunter Cherubini 30 Clemmons
I have been restoring a 1979 H30. These are the Cherubini models and are good boats and are built like tanks......believe me ;). Being a 78 it hard to say what it needs without knowing what the previous owners has done. My 79 was not touched since it left the factory so it needed a lot of attention. First, check the I-beam in the bilge that supports the compression post. Mine was rusted out and had to replace. Like CB said, a boat this old really needs a survey done. It could be the PO's really kept it up......unlike mine.

Jul 7, 2004
Hunter 30T Cheney, KS
Not as roomy as newer models. The engine is minimal. I read that access is awful. Should be aligned well to minimize vibration.

Is it a fin or shoal keel? Any depth concerns where you sail?

Johnb