Looking for a Turn-key Liveaboard Cruiser

Feb 3, 2021
West Wight Potter 19 Lloydminster
I am a newbie. Been looking for a liveaboard cruising sailboat on and off for a year of so now. Have been unable to find a liveaboard cruiser to my liking and/or in my price range ($25-$50,000 USD) that is "turn-key" ready. Have been searching on Canada's west coast and am mainly finding weekender boats. Are "turn-key" cruisers sometimes found on here whereby somebody is at the end of their current cruising adventure and is offering to sell their boat whereby they would step off and I would step on? Is this a realistic possibility?

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Boats in that price range will need work. They can be suitable to live aboard, however, they will not be turn-key.

Why? Because boats that have been used as a live aboard get a lot of use which results in normal wear and tear. Someone who is selling their live aboard boat is not going to spend a lot of money on the boat because it will not be reflected in the selling price.

capta

Jun 4, 2009
Pearson 530 Admiralty Bay, Bequia SVG
I do not believe that such a creature exists. Even many brand new boats have systems or equipment that needs reworking or replacement before they are fit to cross oceans..
After over 6 decades of "messing about in boats", professionally and for pleasure, I think you would be hard pressed to find a sailboat fit to cross oceans for $50k, unless you have absolutely need for creature comforts. In your position, I'd work a few more years for good wages and acquire a better, probably more expensive boat, and a cruising kitty, as making a living cruising (other than remotely, which may limit your movement) is difficult and dangerous in most countries, if you are not a citizen.

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA