lifehack for budget bluewater boats for a family of 4

Feb 14, 2021
Alberg 30 Montreal
Hi guys, I'm sure this has been asked for many times... But I've always been seeing youtube videos of people getting really cheap boats and cruising around the globe for years after fixing the boat on their own. I'm wondering if you have any suggestions for ways to find, and good models of bluewater worthy boats for such endeavors. We are a relatively young couple starting a family. We don't mind the work, actually it would be nice to work on the boat so we know what's going on and how to fix it if things go wrong. I just want something solid and safe, and accommodate a growing family. We don't need anything fancy and I really wouldn't mind super budget friendly options (think less than $10k) for . I'm a noob in cruising, welcome any suggestions.

Dec 28, 2015
Laser, Hunter H30 Cherubini Tacoma
Research . Your asking a loaded question that, in my opinion, doesn’t have a answer for. Some time searching around the internet will paint a critical picture of your vision. Your post says your have a Alberg 30?

Feb 14, 2021
Alberg 30 Montreal
Research . Your asking a loaded question that, in my opinion, doesn’t have a answer for. Some time searching around the internet will paint a critical picture of your vision. Your post says your have a Alberg 30?
That's the boat I have in mind. I think Alberg 30 would be a boat that meets all I listed (with limited space but that's something I'm willing to sacrifice). Just wondering if there are any other options out there so I can compare.

Dec 28, 2015
Laser, Hunter H30 Cherubini Tacoma
off shore and $10k don’t go together. At least not in anything you’ll want to be in or feel confident in in my opinion

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
You have a start on concept but there is much wanting to be identified.

First what are you willing to loose to take on this adventure you crave.