In my hast to get underway...

May 8, 2018
Allied 42xl Galveston
I will admit, Im a new sailing zelot...Im a noob, a newbie. I bought my S2 with my heart on my sleeve, after signing the owner the check and kicking him off my boat I feel deeply in love. Despite doing intensive research for nearly a year, day in and day out, I over looked 1 0f six major big deals.

So, after sailing till 3am Friday night I berthed her in her slip, plugged in and fired up my new portable AC unit and after stuffing the missing washboard where exhaust vented with various objects, dirty jeans, a childs life jacket and pipe insulation...I crashed for the night. In the morning I opened the starboard locker, where the center chain plate bulk head is, to get my bottle of Old Spice and there it was.....a rotting bulk head. I staggered back in horror!

I read here where some dude cut his out and replaced it. old as dirt post. All up inside the cabinetry I was wondering...can that be cut out and fixed, new wood fiber glassed in? Remove the cabinets, can that be done...would i need to?

Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
The need and extent of structural repairs, particularly when it involves major stress areas, isn't something properly assessed on the internet, with no pictures and without a thorough description by people who cant see it. Neither is determining if someone else you read about did it properly or even if his repair is equivalent to that which you might be facing just because it's the same boat.
Anything CAN be done.
Time to take a responsible approach to what could be a dangerous problem.

May 8, 2018
Allied 42xl Galveston