How do they drain?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Feb 2, 2012
N/A N/A N/A
Hi all....I was finally able to go out and see the 74 Catalina 27. I wish they would of cleaned it out and showed it in a more presentable way?
They have done a lot, but it seems that you would be buying a project unfinished...not really where I wanted to begin.
The Volvo Penta MD1 seems to be in really nice shape, clean and fairly new looking? Turns over fine, but the tank is not hooked up. In the cabin the wooden plate was removed from the floor and full of water. They connected the battery, turned on the bilge and the water was gone. When water gets into the cockpit where does it go? and will water be lying in the engine compartment.
As a newbie I'm excited about sailing and did not want to start with a lot of money, they said they paid $7,000 for it 6 yrs. ago and would sell it for $4,000. They have never sailed it yet but has been in the water the last 3 seasons. There is new sails, bbq, gps,Origo single burner stove, compass, depth sounder, new dodger, companionway canvas c/w screen, vhf, new cushions etc.
Can't decide on what to do, they seem like very honest folks, but have moved to the east coast and can't afford $7,000 to move it there.
They put 2000e on the hull a few yrs. ago and it looks great, the windows were removed and resealed.....Comments would be appreciated.

Has anyone seen the video on you tube called "Becoming Elizabeth" the restoration of a 78 Catalina 27...one of those feel good stories that gives you hope!
Thanks,
Ron

Apr 2, 2011
Catalina 27 Niceville, FL
Not all C27s are plumbed the same, but most inboard models cockpit drains are 2 hoses that drain out the bottom of the boat at the stern. Make sure the engine runs or you could easily invest more money than the boat will be worth.

Jon_E

Mar 19, 2011
Catalina 27 Marina del Rey
Sounds good. A few additional items: