East or South to St. Thomas from the Chesapeake

Feb 24, 2024
Island Packet 32 White Stone, VA
All, I have an Island Packet 32 that I am currently outfitting for a trip the the Virgin Islands. I have been sailing for 20 years now on the Chesapeake Bay, having circumnavigated the DelMarVa twice, with one coastal run up to Delaware. My boat is in excellent shape, is very blue water capable, and will be provisioned with all of the operational and safety equipment needed to make the run safely when ready. My question involves which route to take? Leaving from the Chesapeake, there are two routes to get to the Virgin Islands; due East across the gulf stream until you hit the doldrums, then grab the trades flowing South, dropping down on top of St. Thomas. Or you can follow the ICW South, cutting in and out of the "ditch" until you reach Stuart, FL, then follow the chain of islands eventually to St. Thomas.

Both are problematic to me for a variety of reasons. Option #1 going due East means total exposure until you reach your destination, but with proper planning and provisioning will get you there in approximately 14 days of continuous sailing. Option #2 going South using the ICW means less exposure to severe danger, but more exposure to breakdowns and damage, and is a 1 -2 month affair in getting there.

I see the advantages and disadvantages of Option #1 as follows:
Advantages: Getting there quickly, low motor hrs compared to ICW, low probability of damage/breaking something/running aground
Disadvantages: Inexperience with open ocean sailing, no exposure to 24hr sailing, full exposure to storms with no place to hide, real danger if something goes wrong

I see the advantages and disadvantagers of Option #2 as follows:
Advantages: Limited exposure to storms, easier to plan & provision for, help available if needed, ocean sailing & 24hr sailing taken in small bites