Dripless Shaft Seal leaks

Jun 2, 2014
Catalina 30 mkII - 1987 Alamitos Bay Marina, LB, CA
This came installed from the previous owner before I purchased the boat a few years ago.
I understand it should last up to about 6 years before needing full replacement of the seals.
This summer I noticed I'm getting water leaks only while underway, not while sitting at the dock. I made this quick little video to show what I see down there. There are salt deposits around both pieces, the rotor and carbon seal. There are black carbon deposits on the hull that look like spray from the seal. The seal itself doesn't feel like there's anything in there, and the symptom points to needing to apply a little more pressure on the bellows. I don't know who makes this dripless seal, there's no cooling port hose, and I don't have any instructions.
I have never touched one of these before, I'm just learning. If anyone can point me in the right direction, where to find visual instructions, maybe identify the manufacturer, or help me through the process, I'd appreciate it.

May 12, 2004
Hunter Cherubini 30 New Port Richey
Most likely a PSS seal. Google dripless seals. I had one replaced in Jan. It has a vent tube. They should last 7 - 10 years. I don't think they can be replaced while in the water. I do know you would get one heck of a lot of water coming in. After these many years, it might just be wise to pull the boat and replace. That would also be a good time to do other bottom work. If it fails, it could sink the boat. Keep us up to date.

Ted

Jan 26, 2005
C&C 110 Bay Shore, Long Island, NY
It's a PSS dripless shaft seal. You can find information about the PSS Shaft Seal here:
http://www.pyiinc.com/downloads.html