Cushions

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

John Gilbert

Has anyone made new covers for settee/quarterberth/V-berth cushions? Ours appear to be the original and are in tough shape. We'd like to make new ones using the existing foam inserts and are seeking guidance on approach. Thanks.

Jun 1, 2005
Pearson 303 Robinhood, ME
Can't help you here...

I think our cushions are original (1984???), hoping for another 20 years. We did make new curtains!

Apr 22, 2008
Pearson 31 Cranston
Sewing

Cushions are what I would call an intermediate sewing project. I am a total novice. I just purchased a sewing machine (sears) and have been messing around with simple stuff. Tool Roll up, Winch cover, etc. I want to make a bimini over the winter, so I am going to keep working my way up. Books that I have read: This old boat and the big book of boat canvas. Both good. The other thing I have used has been a site called smartflix.com. They rent all kinds of instructional videos. I rented one about making a bimini and it was really good. They are kinda expensive, but I think they are worth it. They have one specifically dedicated to cushions. http://smartflix.com/store/video/3305/Marine-Canvas-Cushions I would be happy to share the stuff I have learned so far.. Good luck and fair winds!

Ariel

Feb 1, 2006
Pearson 36-2 Houston, TX / Rock Hall, MD