Crossing the Strait of Georgia (Gibsons to Nanaimo)

Feb 3, 2021
West Wight Potter 19 Lloydminster
I am a NEWBIE to sailing and am planning a pleasure sail from Gibsons to Nanaimo in the spring. Is there any VHF radio etiquette when crossing the strait? i.e. do I need to notify any harbor radio (Victoria??) of my presence while in the Strait of Georgia waters?

Jan 4, 2006
Hunter 310 West Vancouver, B.C.
Welcome to the site @Prairie Virgin Sailor .

Nothing special about radio, just monitor channel 16 as usual. If this is your first crossing of Georgia Straight, be sure to monitor the weather carefully. After all, this area isn't called the graveyard of the Pacific for nothing. On a clam day, we have seen stand up paddleboarders make the crossing (with a pilot boat). On a rough day, you don't quickly forget.

Also, you must have the pertinant CHS charts for the area as there are lots of crunchy bits near Nanaimo.

You're going to love it and a camera is mandatory.

DSC_1237.jpg

Feb 3, 2021
West Wight Potter 19 Lloydminster

Nothing special about radio, just monitor channel 16 as usual. If this is your first crossing of Georgia Straight, be sure to monitor the weather carefully. After all, this area isn't called the graveyard of the Pacific for nothing. On a clam day, we have seen stand up paddleboarders make the crossing (with a pilot boat). On a rough day, you don't quickly forget.

Also, you must have the pertinant CHS charts for the area as there are lots of crunchy bits near Nanaimo.

View attachment 189967
Excellent, thanks for the info. I have been using Navionics re charts however I would like to obtain paper charts as well. Is there a website where I can get paper charts? Is so, can you attach the URL link? Thanks

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
Jan 4, 2006
Hunter 310 West Vancouver, B.C.