Crossing the Gulf Stream

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
Hey All

This is just one of those info. gathering posts and this place has the most first hand knowledge of anyplace I use so...

I'd like to see what info/resources exist for the self taught sailor regarding the preparation needed for one's first crossing of the gulf stream. I'm imagining a trip from Palm Beach to the Bahamas. I've never done anything like this before. I have left the sight of land before but never a crossing (other than in the Pamlico Sound, Albemarle Sound and the Chesapeake bay but I don't really think of those as crossings)

I've done some reading and here is what I think I already know... so please correct and/or fill in the gaps as you see fit.

1) The gulf stream can get really choppy with 6' short spaced chop after only a few hours of northerlies... and it take a few days to settle down... so... a good weather window requires a few days of southerlies and/or westerlies.

2) You will be out of VHF and cell range for the middle part of the journey so it might be a good idea to have some other means of communication.

3) An EPIRB, safety harnesses etc are a must.

4) The gulf stream can move at up to 10 knots so you need to adjust your course accordingly.

5) Bring a spare tiller.

Okay, well that is what I think I know. So if you have other "must" I'd love to hear about it.

This is not a trip I'm planning on taking in the near future, I'm fixing up an older Rhodes 22' and several guys on the Rhodie list serve have done this trip so it has me thinking about it.