Convert partial battens to full battens

Oct 26, 2008
Catalina 320 Barnegat, NJ
My main sail has about 5 (short) seasons and in good shape but all 4 battens are partial. I was talking to the rigger last night about adding strong-track - he was also a sailmaker and can make modifications. I know it's not really a related topic but I thought I might convert to full battens as long as I'm making changes. I have dutchman system, but apparently full battens will work as long as the slides fall in the right places. Don't know the cost yet but wondering if worthwhile ...

BarryL

May 21, 2004
Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 409 Mt. Sinai, NY
Hi,

I'm not an expert but my understanding is that full battens will extend the life of the sail, but will make it more difficult to shape the sail for specific wind conditions. If you are more interested in sailing performance I would stick with partial battens. If you're more interested in longevity then maybe full battens make sense.

Personally I think the dutchman will cause more wear on the sail than the partial battens will. I love my dutchman system but I can really see how folding the sail in the same position every single time really wears the sail. My sail is a laminate with taffeta cover and the laminate HATES the same folds all of the time. Dacron may be different, I don't know.

You also need to consider the expense of modifying the sail with the savings from extending the life of the sail. I suspect it doesn't make good financial sense to modify the sail but again I'm not an expert.

Barry

May 12, 2004
Hunter Cherubini 30 New Port Richey
I was talking to the rigger last night about adding strong-track
What is strong-track?
I agree with @BarryL about the longevity factor of full battens. I've usually always had them as I find them easier to trim then partial battens. Furling without some type of way to tame the sail as it comes down can be a challenge at times, however.

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA