centerboard problem on a 23

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 27, 2010
Oday Javelin mid-Michigan
Hello all,

I'm a novice O'Day 23 owner (just bought it last fall, been out for 3 weekends this year). We trailered over to a marina for the long Labor Day weekend and had some nice sailing, even thought the wind was a bit strong for my skill level. Anyway, on the last day we were out, we noticed that the centerboard was hard to raise all the way, and it stuck in the up position. I was able to push it back down with a metal rod, but it would stick when I raised it back up. I was afraid to put it on the trailer that way, not even knowing for sure whether the board was all the way up, so we paid to have the boat lifted out of the water so we could get a look at it. It turns out that the leading edge has some cracks in the fiberglass that apparently allows water to seep in to the wooden core, which causes it to swell just enough so that the metal piece that connects the cable to the board rubs in the slot.

Does anyone have advice on fixing this? We had the guys operating the lift set the boat in a position on our bunk trailer to allow the board to swing down about 4 inches, which exposes the tip of the board where the cable is connected. They suggested getting the connector off, then grinding off the fiberglass to expose the bare wood. If the wood is in decent enough shape, should I use some kind of penetrating epoxy on it, then re-fiberglass the surface? Would it make sense to try to leave that part of the board where the bracket attaches a bit thinner to give more clearance? How do I ensure that water cannot seep into the wood around the hole that the attachment pin or rivet fits through?