Catalina 22 Swing Keel Touch-up Paint Recommendations

Jul 6, 2022
Catalina C22 11994 Scorpion Bay Marina
I'm new to sailing. I have a 1984 Catalina 22 that has some light surface rust on the keel. It's not in need of a removal and sandblasting, just some touch up in spots. The Catalina manual says to use zinc chromate paint which I'm familiar with, but I'm having a difficult time locating the right product. An internet search comes up with everything and more brands than I can count. I'm lost. Can anyone point me to a specific product name that will do the job and is affordable? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Attachments

Oct 13, 2020
catalina C-22 4980 channel islands CA
I am almost afraid to post this but.…. Treat the rust spots with OSPHO, or other rust treatment, brush on or spray rustolium rusty metal primer. I like to brush it goes on it thicker. Then I topcoat with Bear Masonry Stucco paint below. It sticks well and does not rust after application. The cost is reasonable, it has worked well on my Cat 22 for the last three years. If the keel gets a scrape I recoat that part. My boat is used in salt water, and it gets out two times a month, stored on a trailer. I would not recommend this for a boat left in the water.

let the comments begin!

Dano

Sep 30, 2013
1988 Catalina 22 North Florida
let the comments begin!
Sounds legit enough to me!

I just wipe a little waterproof grease on the rust spots, as needed. I use "Corrosion Block" brand. A thin film lasts several days and nights cruising in salt water. Works great.

JBP-PA

Apr 29, 2022
Jeanneau Tonic 23 Erie, PA
Jul 6, 2022
Catalina C22 11994 Scorpion Bay Marina
I followed your advice (danooxnard), here is a picture of the result. I think it looks pretty good. Thank you!

Attachments

Apr 30, 2022
Catalina 22 Los Angeles