Campbell prop sailing performance; IOW Drag?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clark

Jun 30, 2004
Hunter 280 Lake Guntersville, AL
I got tired of the vibration and lack of reverse in our existing prop so I've ordered a Campbell Sailor prop for our 1996 model 280 (2GM20F). I've had a 2-blade folder since we got the boat so I have no experience with a fixed prop and would like feedback on sailing performance from those who have done something kinda similar.

Thanks!

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
Not sure what the ? is. A fixed will be slower sailing. Period. How much Reports over the 12 years I've been active have been as much as 1/2 kt., but usually in light winds. We have a fixed 3 blade and I wouldn't trade it in for anything with moving parts underwater. KISS. Ours works well for us.

Clark

Jun 30, 2004
I guess the "Drag?" was meant to ask about the drag the Campbell induced under sail as opposed to the motoring or reverse or propwalk or vibration. I've read Maine Sail's excellent articles and tests and comments from others that were posted about the prop. Just trying to get a feel for and place the sailing performance into a "OMG, this is a pig" to "eh, maybe a little noticed" to "I can't generally tell the diff since I don't race" type of impressions.

Thanks Stu.

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
The latter. And back when I raced I got a handicap for it, so it worked out just fine.

Oct 6, 2007
Catalina 387 Panama City, FL
Check the archives, Maine Sail did a detailed test of the Campbell Sailor prop.
It will be my next prop.

Bill

druid

Apr 22, 2009
Ontario 32 Pender Harbour
I believe the tests show a Campbell Sailor 3-blade has about the same drag as a "standard" (Michigan Wheel?) 2-blade. I have one, got the "3-blade handicap", do really well ;)

I'm pretty sure unless you're racing you won't notice any difference.

druid

Clark

Jun 30, 2004