BUKH 20DV Engine. Ignition Issues

OOC

Mar 19, 2020
Canadian Sailboat CS33 YVR
Recently had my engine serviced. Was a good starter and ran well. Has developed an ignition issue. It will not ignite. It turns over strongly and the batteries are charged and fairly new.The fly wheel rotates and it is straining to start. However, once i turn the ignition key on it will not stop the by turning it off. The engine keeps turning over and trying to fire. I either have to use the decompression levers or turn off the battery power. I replaced the ignition block but the problem is exactly the same. I am not experienced or very knowledgeable with electrical matter.

I studied the circuit diagram, and checked the wiring through as best I am able., and as far as I can tell there are no obvious cable or wiring breaks or interruptions. I hired a mechanic and he hotwired the switch and after a while it fired up and ran and took it out for a short run on the engine only. ALl seemed fine. Reconnected the switch- same problem. Mechanic attended again and together we tried to start he but the engine was just turning over but not igniting. Ran it for a few seconds with compression rods released to allow free wheel; whenrods put in running mode- would not fire.

Although it took a while( it's cold right now and recently) when hot wired it worked. That to me would seem to preclude a stale fuel or other issue. It won't turn off- that's obviously a switching/electrics problem. I can't see any fuses or fuse blocks near the ignition switch; took off the electrical panels inside- don't see any fuses there. After the ignition block all the cabling goes into the original sheath and then presumably through to the electrical panel below.