Bronze Prop treatment

Jan 22, 2008
Beneteau 323 Annapolis MD
What are the suggestions to treat my brand new bronze prop other than regular bottom paints. A sealant/primer or whatever coat? A neighbor is getting his non-bonze treated with a yellow coating product that stays sticky. Thought, please?

Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
Bottom paint is useless as it wears too quickly on a spinning prop. See suggestion above. There are more expensive options but none are any better than zinc coating paints.

capta

Jun 4, 2009
Pearson 530 Admiralty Bay, Bequia SVG
I've been painting bronze props directly with bottom paint since 1958 and have never seen any problems at all, ever. A few years back, Prop Speed came through the boat yard and did our prop for free. It really was no better than regular bottom paint, adhesion or antifouling, so I don't waste money on that stuff. However, we are a charter boat and don't sit in a slip like most, so it may work better for lesser used boats.

Feb 10, 2004
Hunter 40.5 Warwick, RI
Thanks to our government outlawing all the prop coatings that actually worked to keep the growth off, the choices are limited.

There is a coating called "Prop Speed" but is a PITA to apply and it is yellow in appearance. Very expensive and I don't have first hand knowledge if it works. I did try a similar product a few years ago with less than great results.

You can just use bottom paint. The hard formula to resist wearing off. Ablative will be gone in a NY minute.

Or you can use the Pettit Barnacle spray - about $30 for a 16 oz spray can. Or the generic "Cold Galvanize" spray that is sold under various labels like Ace (check the ingredients against the Pettit- they are the same). I have used the Ace or Rustoleum brand Cold Galvanize for 12+ years and found it works as well as anything else. About $8 per 20 oz can and will do the prop for two years of application.

Jan 22, 2008
Beneteau 323 Annapolis MD