Bristol 19/Sailstar Corinthian

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 5, 2007
Kenner Privateer 26 schooner, Carlyle Illinois
Who else sails one? What do you think of sailing performance, etc, compared to other similar boats, such as the Cape Dory Typhoon?

I bought mine a year ago, and actually got it on the water for 1 day last year. I've sailed in 3 club races so far this year, against larger boats, up to 35 feet. In milder conditions I've done very well, actually posting the best corrected time. In windy/choppy conditions, less well; finishing about the middle of the pack.

I find my Corinthian to be a great little sailer. It's realitively easy to launch from a trailer.(I dry sail it.) Holds up well in stiff winds, and yet sails better than expected in light air.

Attachments

Jul 23, 2010
Bristol Corinthian Falmouth
I have been sailing mine for 35 years or so. I've never raced her. Mostly been a day sailor, although my wife & I used to do overnight cruises. It's a rugged little boat, seaworthy enough for the changeable conditions of Buzzards Bay.

Jul 5, 2007
The only reservation I have about my Corinthian, is the non-self draining cockpit. However; mine still has all the foam flotation built in, so it would probably stay afloat if swamped. The low-to-the-water position of the cockpit seats are a fair trade for the inconvienience of the non draining cockpit. It feels as if I'm right on the water when sailing.
I like the motor well set-up. I use a 2hp outboard that I can lift out easily after motoring. I have a plug for the small well that helps her to sail better. I also have the halyards run back to the cockpit for easy singlehanding.

I'd love to try mine in saltwater. I've had my Bristol 24 offshore a few times, but the Corinthian has always been on a lake.

Jul 23, 2010
Bristol Corinthian Falmouth